This lead state team has completed all planned activities and is no longer active. See the closeout report for a summary of lead state team accomplishments. The information below, as created by the active lead state team, remains available for review by users seeking additional information.

New Bridge Material Design Options

What are the New Bridge Material Design Options?

Two bridge-related technologies particularly well suited for remote or environmentally sensitive locations will be showcased by a single lead states team. These are:

  • Rigidified FRP Arch Bridges - This technology offers particular advantage in environmentally sensitive areas and in locations where it isn't feasible to bring in heavy construction equipment. RFRPAB structures are less expensive, longer lasting in severe exposure environments, and have a lower carbon footprint than many other bridge design options.

  • Hybrid Composite Bridges - Hybrid composite beams offer lighter weights, allowing placement with lighter construction equipment. They offer the possibility of longer-lived spans and corrosion resistance not offered in conventional materials.

Contacts – Lead States Team

Kenneth Sweeney, P.E.
Chief Engineer
Maine Department of Transportation
207-624-3011
Ken.sweeney@maine.gov

Dr. Tadeusz C. Alberski, Ph.D., P.E.
Senior Civil Engineer
New York State Department of Transportation
518-457-5682
talberski@dot.state.ny.us

David Sherlock, P.E.
Bridge Program Manager
Maine Department of Transportation
207-624-3490
David.sherlock@maine.gov

Raja Jildeh, P.E.
Michigan Department of Transportation
517-373-0736
jildehr@michigan.gov

Dale Peabody, P.E.
Director, Transportation Research
Maine Department of Transportation
207-624-3305
Dale.peabody@maine.gov

Mansour Mike Mohseni, P.E.
Colorado Department of Transportation
303-512-4300
mansour.mohseni@dot.state.co.us

Stacy McMillan, P.E.
Missouri Department of Transportation
573-526-0250
Stacy.mcmillan@modot.mo.gov

Christine Mizioch, P.E.
Vice President
Accelerated Project Delivery
The Metric Group
617-778-1489
Christine.mizioch@themetricgroup.com

Larry Parent, P.E.
Senior R&D Program Manager
AEWC Advanced Structures and Composites Center
University of Maine
207-581-2718
Larry_Parent@umit.maine.edu

Louis N. Triandafilou, P.E.
Senior Structural Engineer
FHWA Office of Technical Services
410-962-3648
lou.triandafilou@dot.gov

Friends of the Team:
Stephen Von Vogt, P.E.
Executive Director
Maine Composites Alliance
207-828-1414
svonvogt@mainecompositesalliance.org

New Bridge Material Design Options Library