The AASHTO Innovation Initiative was formerly named the Technology Implementation Group.

Towing and Recovery Service Partnership (TRSP)

What is a Towing and Recovery Service Partnership?

turned-over trailer being up-righted by tow trucks

Towing and Recovery Service Partnerships (TRSPs) help public and private partners establish protocols, and often training and incentives, to ensure that the right responders, tow equipment and operators are brought in to rapidly restore traffic flow, based purely on the type of incident and the vehicles involved.

Already at work in several states, each partnership means the stalled motorist is safer, responders are safer, and the likelihood of secondary accidents is reduced, increasing safety and mobility for all. TRSPs are customizable to the needs, laws, and practices of each region or agency.

TRSPs are public/private partnerships with the tow industry which use local tow vendors who have the equipment, personnel and expertise to respond and remove vehicles in their assigned zones, safely and quickly, depending upon the nature of the incident.

See the technology nomination for additional information.

Contacts – Lead States Team

Bill Legg, Chair
State ITS Operations Engineer
Washington State Department of Transportation
360-705-7994
leggb@wsdot.wa.gov

Paul Clark
Incident Management Program Manager
Florida Department of Transportation
850-410-5607
Paul.Clark@dot.state.fl.us

Emanuel Jackson
H.E.R.O. Unit Coordinator
Georgia Department of Transportation
404-894-3857
ejackson@dot.ga.gov

Gary Ogletree
Office of Incident Management
Tennessee Department of Transportation
615-350-3308
Gary.Ogletree@tn.gov

David Fink
Transportation Management Systems, Houston District
Texas Department of Transportation
713-881-3063
David.Fink@houstontranstar.org

Paul Jodoin
Traffic Incident Management Program Manager
Federal Highway Administration
202-366-5465
paul.jodoin@dot.gov

Friend of the Team:
Gary Millsaps
Incident Management Specialist
Delcan
404-320-1776
g.millsaps@delcan.com

TRSP Library