Automated Machine Guidance

This lead state team has completed all planned activities and is no longer active. See the closeout overview for a summary of lead state team accomplishments. The information below, as created by the active lead state team, remains available for review by users seeking additional information.

What is Automated Machine Guidance?

AMG equipped heavy construction equipment

Automated Machine Guidance (AMG) links sophisticated software with construction equipment to direct the operation of machinery with a high level of precision, improving the speed and accuracy of highway construction processes.

Benefits

Because it eliminates much of the guesswork, skilled manual control, and labor involved in traditional methods, AMG improves worker safety and saves agencies and contractors time and money – enhancing their ability to deliver highways “better, faster, and cheaper.”

Now gaining in popularity for grading operations, AMG offers the opportunity to move soil and other materials with fewer workers. This enhances safety and cost efficiency overall. It also significantly improves the accuracy of measurements, which delivers a myriad of benefits.

Contacts – Lead States Team

MN DOT
Lou Barrett, Chair
lou.barrett@dot.state.mn.us

GA DOT
Greg Mayo
greg.mayo@dot.state.ga.us

MO DOT
Stephen Atkinson
stephen.atkinson@modot.mo.gov

NY DOT
Dan Streett
dstreett@dot.state.ny.us

MI DOT
Dan Belcher
belcherd@michigan.gov

FHWA
Douglas Townes
douglas.townes@fhwa.dot.gov

MN DOT
Todd Broadwell
todd.broadwell@dot.state.mn.us

Ames Construction
Steve Nelson
sjnelson@amesco.com

MN DOT
Craig Collison
craig.collison@dot.state.mn.us

Ames Construction
Butch Trebesch
butcht@amesco.com

NC DOT
Charlie Brown
charliebrown@dot.state.nc.us

Lancaster Development, Inc.
Dominick Izzo
dominick.izzo@lancasterdevelopment.com

FL DOT
Beverly Sutphin
beverly.sutphin@dot.state.fl.us

UT DOT
Craig Hancock
chancock@utah.gov

WI DOT
Brad Hollister
brad.hollister@dot.state.wi.us

 

AMG Library